Who We Are

    Home / Who We Are

Who We Are


St. Christopher’s is an Episcopal Church, which means that we are under the care of a bishop. The word, Episcopal, comes from the Greek word, episcopoi, which means ‘overseer’. The bishop is the chief pastor – or overseer – of a diocese, which is a group of Episcopal congregations in a specific geographical area. St. Christopher’s is part of the Episcopal Diocese of West Texas. Our bishops are the Rt. Rev.David Reed and the Rt. Rev. Jennifer Brooke-Davidson.  History St. Christopher’s began as a mission in 1948. Construction on the current church was completed in 1955. St. Christopher’s received parish status in 1965. In the past few years, the facilities have been expanded and the scope of ministry has increased. The congregation has a significant role in the life of the rapidly growing area of Bandera County.


The town of Bandera lies approximately 50 miles northwest of San Antonio. It is the county seat of Bandera County. A mixture of ranching, tourism, hunting, fishing and, increasingly, retirement households supports the area’s economy. Bandera is the site of numerous outdoor festivals and is known as the ‘Cowboy Capital of the World.’

Making Contact

Secretary office hours are Monday through Friday 9:00-2:00.   To schedule an appointment please call the office.  If we are not there, simply leave a message (phone, email, or stick it on the door) and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible